Stoppage-time – how FIFA’s new penalty rules work
Even though the proposal for additional assistant referees was ultimately rejected for the World Cup, the big rule change that has got people talking is the new stipulations surrounding penalty kicks.
The regulations introduced prevent a player from stopping just before he strikes the ball in a penalty situation. Stuttering during the run-up is still fine so Cristiano Ronaldo won’t have to worry just yet but pausing to see where the goalie is diving to is now prohibited.
Players will be shown a yellow card by the referee and will have to retake the kick if it goes into the net. This means that it will not be an outright disallowed goal but if the player misses after he stops and feints, he will not be allowed a second chance.
Officials were shown a tutorial video on the types of manouvre outruled by the change but it must be stressed that this type of penalty technique is much more common in South America than it is in Europe. And the instances of it among English and Scottish leagues could be quashed if the football associations in those countries adopt it for the upcoming season.
Is the rule change valid? More to the point, is it really necessary? Admittedly it can be argued that it is unsportsmanlike and unfair to goalkeepers but if FIFA wanted to rid the World Cup of cheating, they would do better to introduce retrospective suspensions for dives, goal-line technology or video replays rather than try and stop a practice which many football followers won’t be overly familiar with.
However, fans of unorthodox penalties shouldn’t be too concerned as moves such as this:
Will still be allowed. FIFA will argue this is line with their desire to promote fairplay and I guess it will at least be one less thing to cause controversy but it was hardly an issue that fans or the media had been pressing forward.
What do you think of the new penalty rules? A step closer to making football a cleaner sport or an irrelevant piece of FIFA meddling?
The first penalty should NOT have been allowed
a) because his team mate was less then 10 yards from the ball when the kick was taken and inside the penalty area and
b) because a penalty kick MUST be a shot at goal.
If you look at the replay, the player is on the edge of the area as he shapes to strike the ball. It is possible that he may be half a yard inside when the ball is kicked, admittedly. But I chose this clip to show that the penalty “pass” is still allowed.
However, the penalty kick doesn’t have to be a shot at goal, it is simply a free kick for the player inside the box. He can choose to kick the ball out for a throw-in or goal kick as it is perfectly legal. As long as he only touches the ball once, there is no contravening of the rules.
Michael, a penalty kick must move forward. what he did was legal as he passed the ball forward. you cannot kick it back to someone for a pass or simply step on the ball if it doesnt move, but touching it forward is legal.
The last one is also suspect. The laws of the game state that “the player taking the penalty kick must be properly identified.”
yeah, i’ve my doubts over the last one .
Hello i need to ask about benality . my qoution is in benality one player move the boll one came from behand kick the ball the that boll is gaol
Comments are closed